Wednesday, March 17, 2010

Healing Power of Mudras: Therapy for Health and Vitality

Our body can rejuvenate itself if we position the fingers on both hands for prescribed period. These various hand gestures are "Hastamudras" can heal diseases and even slowly make spiritual awakening. Along with Hastamudras, Asanas and Pranayama, we can maintain and develop a strong and healthy body.

Our body is composed of five elements - Earth, Water, Air, Fire and sky/space. The five fingers of our hand represents these five basic elements each one related to one particular element. Modern science agrees that different kinds of electro-magnetic waves are transmitted from our five different finger tips. Ancient Rishis, sages discovered Mudra Vigyan. According to them, these are the points to be pressed for treatment in our palms. By touching of hands to each other or folding fingers in a particular way, or pressing some points of hands, we can cure any disturbance in these five elements with the help of our fingers, we can keep the five elements in proper proportion, any disturbance in them (excess or scarce) can be balanced. So that our body becomes healthy.

All five fingers regulate the five elements of body. These are as follows :
1. Thumb                       Fire
2. Index Finger               Air
3. Middle Finger              Space
4. Ring Finger                 Earth
5. Little Finger                 Water

Main healing kind of Mudras are :

1. Gyan Mudra                        8. Jalodarnashak Mudra
2. Space or Akash Mudra         9. Pran Mudra
3. Prithvi Mudra                    10. Apan Mudra
4. Varun Mudra                    11. Apan Vayu Mudra
5. Vayu Mudra                     12. Ling Mudra
6. Shunya Mudra                  13. Shankha Mudra
7. Surya Mudra                     14. Sahaj Shankha Mudra
                                            15. Dhyan Mudra

Please read the instructions of using the mudras here: